Winship’s Curran receives ASTRO Gold Medal

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

American Society for Radiation Oncology awarded its highest honor, the Gold Medal, to Winship Executive Director Walter J. Curran, Jr., during the 2019 annual ASTRO meeting in Chicago Sept. 14-18.

The Gold Medal is given to ASTRO members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of radiation oncology in research, clinical care, teaching and service.

Curran was recognized for training and mentoring hundreds of oncologists, dedication to patients, and more than 30 years of involvement in and leadership of the national clinical cooperative group Radiation Therapy Oncology Group, now NRG Oncology.

Curran is group chair and principal investigator of NRG Oncology. He is an expert in the treatment of locally advanced lung cancer and malignant brain tumors and was the first radiation oncologist to serve as director of a NCI-designated cancer center. He is a standing member of NCI’s Clinical Trials Advisory Committee.

He is responsible for defining a universally adopted staging system for patients with malignant glioma.

Curran also holds the Lawrence W. Davis Chair of Radiation Oncology, chair of Emory’s Department of Radiation Oncology and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar and Chair in Cancer Research.

Table of Contents


John A. Ellerton, the principal investigator of the Nevada Cancer Research Foundation NCI Community Oncology Research Program, has won the 2021 Harry Hynes Award. The award is given annually to NCORP PIs for outstanding contribution to clinical trials and community research. In 1983, Ellerton’s group, then called the Southern Nevada Research Foundation, was among the...

From 1992 to 2008, Ellen Stovall was the president and CEO of NCCS, the oldest survivor-led organization advocating for quality cancer care for all Americans. This video, filmed and produced in 2008, features interviews from NCCS co-founders Dr. Patti Ganz and Dr. Fitzhugh Mullan, Dr. Julia Rowland, Dr. Zeke Emanuel, the late General H. Norman Schwarzkopf, and others.