publication date: Apr. 25, 2014


Zhengxin Wang and Kapil Mehta, two faculty members denied tenure renewal by MD Anderson President Ronald DePinho, despite unanimous recommendation by theMD Anderson Promotions and Tenure Committee.

A year before Kapil Mehta’s tenure term expired last August, the 11-member Promotions and Tenure Committee at MD Anderson Cancer Center had unanimously recommended renewal.

“I’ve done everything I’m supposed to do during my tenure,” Mehta said to The Cancer Letter. “I’ve done publications, organized international meetings, service, teaching—everything.”

Mehta’s application was personally rejected by MD Anderson President Ronald DePinho, who overruled the PTC recommendation in May 2012.

Mehta appealed, and a second committee—the Faculty Appeals Panel—endorsed the PTC’s recommendation to renew Mehta’s tenure. However, the administration wasn’t swayed. DePinho’s decision stood.

Mehta, 63, a professor in the Department of Experimental Therapeutics and an MD Anderson employee for 30 years, said he was never given reasons for the rejection.

The vetoes of tenure renewals unanimously recommended by PTC aren’t limited to Mehta: DePinho’s presidential pen struck twice more over the following year, denying tenure to … Continue reading 40-17 DePinho’s Nixing of Tenure Renewals May Bring Censure to MD Anderson

To access this members-only content, please log in.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
If you believe you should be able to view this area but cannot log in, then please contact us and we will try to rectify this issue as soon as possible.
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2017 The Cancer Letter Inc.