10 physicians win NCI Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Ten investigators nationwide received the NCI’s Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards.

The award recognizes and supports outstanding clinical investigators at NCI-designated cancer centers who participate extensively in institute-funded collaborative clinical trials and whose leadership, participation, and activities promote a culture of successful clinical research.

Established in 2009, the awards are intended to help retain investigators in academic clinical research careers. Each of these investigators is a full-time faculty member who is a board-certified physician and has practiced medicine between three and eight years post-fellowship.

Each recipient was nominated for the award by their cancer center director on the basis of qualifications, interests, accomplishments, and motivation, and based upon the nominee’s intent and ability to promote a successful clinical trials culture and to pursue an academic career in clinical research.

The recipients will devote 15 to 20 percent effort to the activities associated with this award, and the sponsoring cancer centers have agreed to protect the awardees’ time for these activities. The award provides partial salary support for two years for the recipient to engage in activities and efforts related to the award.

The recipients for 2017 are:

  • Ajjai Alva
    University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

  • Lisa Barroilhet
    University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center

  • Ursa Brown-Glaberman
    University of New Mexico Comprehensive Cancer Center

  • Shira Dinner
    Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Northwestern University

  • Jean Hoffman-Censits
    Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Thomas Jefferson University

  • Kevin Kalinsky
    Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center, Columbia University

  • Christopher Lieu
    University of Colorado Comprehensive Cancer Center

  • Rahul Parikh
    University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute

  • Eric Roeland
    Moores Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California, San Diego

  • April Salama
    Duke Cancer Institute, Duke University Medical Center