publication date: Apr. 21, 2017

In Brief

NCCS announces Ellen Stovall Award for Innovation in Patient-Centered Cancer Care

The National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship launched a nationwide competition for the 2017 Ellen L. Stovall Award for Innovation in Patient-Centered Cancer Care, an opportunity for patients and survivors to recognize exceptional providers who are transforming cancer care.

NCCS seeks nominations for the Stovall Award from cancer survivors, health care professionals, third-party payers, and others who are engaged with the cancer care system.

Nominees for the award will be evaluated according to these criteria:

Honoring the principles of patient-centeredness, especially emphasizing access to care, respect for patient preferences, and coordination and integration of care.

Engaging patients, families, and caregivers in the design of quality cancer care systems.

Implementing a quality cancer care system for sustainability and for replication.

Collaborating with others in the cancer care system for ongoing quality improvement efforts.

In more than two decades of service and leadership at NCCS, Ellen Stovall focused on the delivery of quality cancer care.

As a cancer survivor of more than four decades, Ellen sought to design her own system of patient-centered care to address the serious late and long-term effects of her cancer treatment, including the treatment of a second cancer.

In pursuing her own system of care, she focused on care that emphasized strong doctor-patient communication, coordination of care and symptom management, and full consideration of the evidence supporting treatment options.


Luis Diaz to lead MSKCC Division of Solid Tumor Oncology

Luis Diaz was named the head of the Division of Solid Tumor Oncology in the Department … Continue reading NCCS announces Ellen Stovall Award for Innovation in Patient-Centered Cancer Care

To access this members-only content, please log in.
Institutional subscribers, please log in with your IP.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2020 The Cancer Letter Inc.