publication date: May. 6, 2016

National Academy of Sciences Elects 105 Members 


The National Academy of Sciences elected 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 2,291 and the total number of foreign associates to 465. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the academy.

The elected members are:

Agol, Ian; professor of mathematics, department of mathematics, University of California, Berkeley

• Ashtekar, Abhay; Eberly Professor of Physics and director, Institute for Gravitation and the Cosmos, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park

• Bailey-Serres, Julia; director, Center for Plant Cell Biology, and professor of genetics, department of botany and plant sciences, University of California, Riverside

• Bartel, Bonnie; Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, department of biosciences, Rice University

• Blau, Helen; Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Foundation Professor, Baxter Laboratory for Stem Cell Biology, Stanford University School of Medicine

• Boothroyd, John; Burt and Marion Avery Professor of Immunology, department of microbiology and immunology, Stanford University School of Medicine

• Brown, Myles; professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School, and director, Center for Functional Cancer Epigenetics, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

• Bull, James; Johann Friedrich Miescher Regents Professor, department of integrative biology, The University of Texas, Austin

• … Continue reading 42-18 National Academy of Sciences Elects 105 Members

To access this members-only content, please log in.
Institutional subscribers, please log in with your IP.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2020 The Cancer Letter Inc.