publication date: Sep. 11, 2015

70th Annual Lasker Awards Go To Witkin, Elledge, Allison, Medecins Sans Frontieres 


The 70th annual Lasker Awards went to: Evelyn Witkin and Stephen Elledge for basic medical research; James Allison for clinical research; and Doctors Without Borders for public service.

The awards carry an honorarium of $250,000 for each category, and will be presented Sept. 18 in New York City.

Witkin and Elledge received the 2015 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for their research illuminating the fundamentals of the DNA-damage response mechanism that protects the genome of all living organisms.

Witkin is a professor emerita at Rutgers University, and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She has also received the Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal of the Genetics Society of America, the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences and the National Medal of Science, presented to her by President George W. Bush in 2003.

Elledge is the Gregor Mendel Professor of Genetics and of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and has been a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator since 1993. He has received the Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Research, Dickson Prize in Medicine from the University of Pittsburgh, the National Academy of Sciences Award in Molecular Biology, and the Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research from Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, among others.

Continue reading 41-33 70th Annual Lasker Awards Go To Witkin, Elledge, Allison, Medecins Sans Frontieres

To access this members-only content, please log in.
Institutional subscribers, please log in with your IP.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2020 The Cancer Letter Inc.