publication date: May. 30, 2014


ASCO 2014: Special Awards

The Special Awards honorees at the 2014 meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology are:

• H.M. (Bob) Pinedo
was named the recipient of the David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture. He is professor emeritus of the VU University Medical Center and a consultant to the Board of the VUmc Cancer Center in Amsterdam.

In a four-decade-long career, Pinedo has focused on original, translational cancer research combining leading-edge basic science with clinical excellence. He has served as a founder of the Center for Translational Molecular Medicine in Eindhoven, The Netherlands, and as president of the European Society of Medical Oncology.

• Harald zur Hausen
was named the recipient of the Science of Oncology Award and Lecture. He is a virologist and cancer researcher who discovered the important role that human papillomavirus plays in cervical cancer. His ground-breaking research in the 1970s and 1980s paved the way for the development of the HPV vaccine in 2006. He received a Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2008 for this achievement.

Throughout his career, Hausen has focused on furthering the understanding of cancer through his innovative research in the field of oncoviruses. He served as scientific director of the German Cancer Research Center from 1983-2003, and from 2000 to 2009 served as editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Cancer.

• Graham Colditz
was named the recipient of the ASCO-American Cancer Society Award and Lecture. He is an internationally renowned epidemiologist and public health expert with a long-standing interest in the causes and prevention of chronic disease, particularly those affecting women.

To access this members-only content, please log in.
Institutional subscribers, please log in with your IP.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2020 The Cancer Letter Inc.