publication date: Oct. 19, 2018

Caligiuri, Califano, Gottlieb among new members of National Academy of Medicine

The National Academy of Medicine announced the election of regular members and international members during its annual meeting.

New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.


Newly elected NAM members whose work touches on cancer are:

Yasmine Belkaid, Ph.D., director, microbiome program, and chief, metaorganism immunology section, Division of Intramural Research, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health.

For defining fundamental mechanisms that regulate tissue immunity and uncovered key roles for the commensal microbiota and dietary factors in the maintenance of tissue immunity and protection to pathogens.

James M. Berger, Ph.D., professor of biophysics and biophysical chemistry, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

For groundbreaking discoveries about cell growth and genomic stability that impact human disease and therapeutic drug development.

Richard E. Besser, M.D., president and chief executive officer, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Princeton, N.J.

For leadership and achievement in public health preparedness and response, and for service as a gifted proponent of public understanding of complex health issues.

Richard S. Blumberg, M.D., Jerry S. Trier Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; and chief, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

For multiple seminal, paradigm-changing contributions to our understanding of mucosal immunology and immune development having identified mechanistic alterations central to several diseases, including inflammatory bowel disease, autoimmune disorders, and cancer.

Andrea Califano, Dr., Clyde and Helen Wu Professor of Chemical and Systems Biology, departments of systems biology, biochemistry and … Continue reading Caligiuri, Califano, Gottlieb among new members of National Academy of Medicine

To access this members-only content, please log in.
Institutional subscribers, please log in with your IP.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2020 The Cancer Letter Inc.