40-40 Institute of Medicine Elects Class of 80 New Members

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Institute of Medicine Elects Class of 80 New Members

The Institute of Medicine named 70 new members and 10 foreign associates during its 44th annual meeting.

New members are elected by current active members through a selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

A diversity of talent among IOM’s membership is assured by the institute’s charter, which says that at least one-quarter of the membership is selected from outside the health professions, including fields such as the law, engineering, social sciences and the humanities.

The newly elected members raise IOM’s total active membership to 1,798 and the number of foreign associates to 128. With an additional 86 members holding emeritus status, IOM’s total membership is 2,012.

The full list is available on the IOM website. Members in the cancer research field include:

José Baselga, physician-in-chief and chief medical officer of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, and president-elect of the American Association of Cancer Research

Carol Bradford, the Charles J. Krause collegiate professor and chair of the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Michigan

Lewis Cantley, director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medical College/New York-Presbyterian Hospital

E. Antonio Chiocca, neurosurgeon-in-chief of the Department of Neurosurgery and co-director of the Institute for the Neurosciences at Brigham and Women’s/Faulkner Hospital; surgical director of the Center for Neuro-oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; and the Harvey W. Cushing professor of neurosurgery at Harvard Medical School

Joseph DeSimone, chancellor’s eminent professor of chemistry and William R. Kenan Jr. distinguished professor of chemistry in the Departments of Chemistry and Pharmacology at University of North Carolina and North Carolina State University, Chapel Hill

James Economou, vice chancellor for research and Beaumont professor of surgery at the University of California, Los Angeles

Todd Golub, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; chief scientific officer of the Broad Institute of Harvard and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and the Charles A. Dana investigator at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

James Hill, Anschutz Professor in the departments of pediatrics and medicine, and director of the Anschutz Health and Wellness Center at the University of Colorado

Paul Khavari, professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology at Stanford University

Brian Kobilka, professor of molecular and cellular physiology at the Stanford University School of Medicine

Guillermina Lozano, professor and chair of the Department of Genetics at MD Anderson Cancer Center

David Piwnica-Worms, professor and chair of the Department of Cancer Systems Imaging and deputy head of the Division of Diagnostic Imaging at MD Anderson Cancer Center

Margaret Shipp, chief of the Division of Hematology Neoplasia at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Dan Theodorescu, the Paul A. Bunn cancer research chair, professor of surgery and pharmacology, and director of the University of Colorado Comprehensive Cancer Center


President Joe Biden April 9 announced his FY2022 budgetary plans for ARPA-H—Advanced Research Projects Agency-Health—a federal entity designed to “deliver breakthroughs to find cures for cancer and other diseases.” In his initial White House budget proposal—dubbed skinny budget, or budget-lite—Biden is requesting $6.5 billion to fund ARPA-H.  “The discretionary request calls for $6.5 billion to...