publication date: Jul. 15, 2016

In Brief

NCI Names Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award Winners


NCI announced the 13 recipients of its Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards.

The awards recognize and support clinical investigators at NCI-Designated Cancer Centers who participate in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials and whose leadership, participation, and activities promote a culture of successful clinical research.

Each of these investigators is a full-time faculty member who is a board-certified physician and has practiced medicine between three and 10 years post-fellowship. The 2016 awardees were formally announced at the NCI Clinical Trials and Translational Research Advisory Committee Meeting July 13.

The recipients will devote 15 to 20 percent of their efforts to the activities associated with this award, and the sponsoring cancer centers have agreed to protect the awardees’ time for these activities. The award provides partial salary support for two years for the recipient to engage in activities and efforts related to the award.

The recipients include:

Rahul Aggarwal, of the UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

Jamie Bakkum-Gamez, of Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

Catherine Diefenbach, of the Perlmutter Cancer Center at New York University Langone Medical Center

Noah Hahn, of Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins University

Erin Hofstatter, of Yale Cancer Center

Kevin Kelly, of USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center

Sarah Leary, of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Frederick Locke, of Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

Rachel Miller, of the University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center

Taofeek Owonikoko, of the Winship Cancer Institute at Emory University

Geoffrey Oxnard, of Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center

Dale Shepard, of Case Comprehensive Cancer … Continue reading 42-28 In Brief: NCI Names Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award Winners

To access this members-only content, please log in.
Institutional subscribers, please log in with your IP.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2020 The Cancer Letter Inc.