publication date: Mar. 28, 2014


In Brief
Caplan Receives NSB Public Service Award

ARTHUR CAPLAN received the 2014 Public Service Award from the National Science Board. Caplan is the founding head of the Division of Bioethics at New York University Langone Medical Center.

He has long been considered an expert in ethical questions that accompany scientific and technological advances. NSB’s Public Service Award honors an individual’s exemplary service in fostering public understanding of science and engineering.

He is a fellow of the Hastings Center, the NY Academy of Medicine, the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, the American College of Legal Medicine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Caplan is the author or editor of 32 books and over 600 papers in peer reviewed journals. He has chaired a number of national and international committees including the NCI Biobanking Ethics Working Group and the Advisory Committee to the United Nations on Human Cloning, among others.

He writes a column on bioethics for, is a commentator on bioethics and health care issues for WebMD/Medscape, and a regular commentator on medicine and science for WGBH radio in Boston.

Among Caplan’s many recognitions are the McGovern Medal of the American Medical Writers Association, the Patricia Price Browne Prize in Biomedical Ethics, and a Person of the Year-2001 from USA Today. NSB will present Caplan the award May 6, during the National Science Foundation/NSB Annual Awards Ceremony in Washington D.C.

VICTOR FAZIO and HAGOP KANTARJIAN will each receive lifetime achievement awards from Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. during their National Physician of the Year Awards, scheduled March 31 … Continue reading 40-13 In Brief

To access this members-only content, please log in.
Institutional subscribers, please log in with your IP.
If you're not a subscriber why not join today?
To gain access to the members only content click here to subscribe.
You will be given immediate access to premium content on the site.
Click here to join.

Copyright (c) 2020 The Cancer Letter Inc.